Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

DanielSH
Regular Visitor

Access formatting value of conditional formatting in Power BI custom visual

I'm new to Power BI custom visual development, following the Microsoft documentation (https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/developer/visuals/develop-power-bi-visuals), but I don't find it particularly helpful when it comes to conditional formatting.

I'm building up my visual using HTML elements, and I want to apply conditional formatting to the background color of the elements. I created a simplified example which is available here: https://github.com/DanielSzentimrey-Harrach/sampleVisual

In settings.ts I specified the instanceKind property on my color picker, so I can configure conditional formatting:

class DataPointCardSettings extends FormattingSettingsCard {
    defaultColor = new formattingSettings.ColorPicker({
        name: "defaultColor",
        displayName: "Default color",
        value: { value: "" },
        instanceKind: powerbi.VisualEnumerationInstanceKinds.ConstantOrRule
    });

name: string = "dataPoint";
    displayName: string = "Data colors";
    slices: Array<FormattingSettingsSlice> = [this.defaultColor];
}

In my visual.ts I simply iterate through the input values, and display the category name within a span. I use the measure value to set the width of the span. (This simple logic is just for the sake of this example.):

public update(options: VisualUpdateOptions) {
    this.formattingSettings = this.formattingSettingsService.populateFormattingSettingsModel(VisualFormattingSettingsModel, options.dataViews[0]);

const dataView: powerbi.DataView = options.dataViews[0];
    const categoricalMapping = dataView.categorical;

this.target.innerHTML = "";

for (let i=0; i < categoricalMapping.categories[0].values.length; i++) {