Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

Andy2410

Ethnicity Workforce Gap

Hi. I am still learning Power BI on the job so forgive me if this question sounds simplistic. 

As part of our workforce KPIs I need to calculate the Ethnicity Workforce Gap, which is the total number of ABMO/BAME staff members divided by the Total Employees in a given period.

In Power Query I have a column which has all staff's Ethnic Origin in it and I have created a duplicate column that simplifies this further so that the only 3 values are ABMO, White or Prefer Not to Say. I have a NonFTE Headcount figure already on another table, so what I want to do inititally is get a total number of ABMO values that occur in the table in PQ and then following that do a calculation to divide that figure by the Total Employees in the business leaving me with a final % figure to feed in the KPIs.

I am sure there is a really simple solution to this but my sleep deprived brain is not helping me to solve the problem.

All help appreciated and let me know if you need me to provide any further information. 

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
johnbasha33
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

@Andy2410 

No worries at all! Calculating the Ethnicity Workforce Gap in Power BI is a common requirement, and I'm here to help you with that.

Let's break down the steps to achieve this in Power BI using Power Query and DAX:

1. **Count ABMO Values in Power Query (M Language)**:
In Power Query Editor, you can use the "Group By" feature to count the occurrences of ABMO values in your Ethnic Origin column. Here's how you can do it:
- Go to the Power Query Editor.
- Select your table.
- Click on the "Group By" option in the Home tab.
- Group by your Ethnic Origin column and choose "Count Rows" as the operation.