Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

kyle-intellese

Formatting XML API data connection

I am still new to all this (PowerBI, APIs, and XML) please forgive my ignorance. I am trying to use the Church Community Builder API. The example is: make a request to

https://yourchurch.ccbchurch.com/api.php?srv=individual_attendance&individual_id=48

And get back:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<ccb_api>
  <request>
    <parameters>
      <argument value="individual_attendance" name="srv"/>
      <argument value="48" name="individual_id"/>
    </parameters>
  </request>
  <response>
    <service>individual_attendance</service>
    <service_action>execute</service_action>
    <availability>public</availability>
    <individuals count="1">
      <individual id="48">
        <name>Little Joe</name>
        <attendances>
          <attendance>
            <event id="776">Sunday School</event>
            <group id="1">Entire Church Group</group>
            <occurrence>2012-06-17 09:00:00</occurrence>
          </attendance>
          …
          <attendance>
            <event id="1806">Kids Club!</event>
            <group id="1">Entire Church Group</group>
            <occurrence>2013-10-17 09:00:00</occurrence>
          </attendance>
        </attendances>
      </individual>
    </individuals>
  </response>
</ccb_api>

But when I connect in PowerBI the result is:

When I request with Postman or curl I get the expected result. If I understand correctly, I need to tell PowerBI how to format the "individuals" table - but I don't understand how to do that.

Is anyone up for explaining what I need to do?

5 REPLIES 5
v-xinruzhu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @kyle-intellese