Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

pankajk83

Losing context transition by using filter

Hi All,

Struggling to understand this behaviour of calculate. Newbie here. I have two tables. A sales table and a product table. I am creating a calculated column inside product table to to calculate sales of each product only when the quantity sold (in sales table) is greater than 1. 

In the screenshot, you can see that Calculate doesn't do context transition when using a filter inside. However, if I write the formula as

single calculate=calculate(sum(Sales[pk_total sales amount]),Sales[Quantity]>1) , it enforces this context transition. 

I am also beginning to wonder if this above new formula is deceiving my logic. Isn't the above new formula for single calculate the same as 

single calculate = calculate(sum(pk_total sales amount), filter(all(sales[quantity), sales[quantity)>1). If yes, then context transition must not have been obeyed in the first place!

It also obeys context transition if I use calculate twice . example 
Double calculate = calculate(calculate(sum(Sales[pk_total sales amount]), filter(sales,Sales[Quantity]>1)))

CT lost.JPG

8 REPLIES 8
tamerj1
Super User
Super User

Hi @pankajk83 

The reason is very simple. CACULATE imposes context transition over the first Argument (the expression). However, the 2nd argument (filter argument) of CALCULATE is evaluated in the outer filter context. But guess what! There is no outer filter context in this case. It's a calculated column with only row context. 
When you wrap the whole formula with another CALCULATE then the inner calculate in its totality becomes the expression argument of the outer CALCULATE. Therefore, context transition is applied and hence "FILTER ( 'Table'..." becomes "FILTER ( CALCULATETABLE ( 'Table' )..."